Start Completing Your Louisiana Insurance Continuing Education Hours Here
Getting your required 24 hours of continuing education hours just got easier! The Center for Continuing Education offers over 170 hours over 17 courses to meet your needs. We also have many pre-packaged courses based on your license type including:
Our Louisana adjuster and agent/producer continuing education courses are online and have been approved by the Louisiana Department of Insurance.
We make it easy! Each course is online allowing you to log-in as many times as you like, whenever you like, and the course remembers where you left off! We even pre-packaged courses for you to make it easy to get 24 hours, saving you time, and eliminating the stress of picking the right courses.
Donâ€™t Worry! Our online courses do not require final exams! Our online courses are broken into manageable units with a quiz at the end of each unit. We also provide correct answers and rationale for those answers you might miss. You get to retake the quiz as many times as you need to achieve a passing grade and move to the next unit.
Want a Corporate Account? We serve many insurance company’s licensing needs including Allstate, Sentry Insurance, ANPAC, Mercury and others. We provide discounts, a corporate tracking and registration site, and billing options. Interested in learning more? Contact us at (800) 873-9353 or at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Louisiana Continuing Education Requirements
Continuing education is only required for resident insurance producers and adjusters. This includes insurance adjusters that have designated Louisiana as their "home state" for the purpose of licensing. The requirements are as follows:
Producers licensed for one or more lines of life, health and accident, property, casualty or personal lines: 24 hours (including 3 hours in ethics).
Producers licensed for line of bail bonds: 12 hours
Producers licensed for line of title: 12 hours
Variable products insurance; or
Adjuster license: 24 hours
Insurance producers with the lines of property, casualty or personal lines must include three hours of education in flood as part of the 24 hour requirement.
Effective with renewals of 2015, producers licensed for title must include two hours on the topic of consumer financial protection as part of the 12 hour requirement.
Note that training requirements for long-term care and annuity products are different from the continuing education requirements listed above.
For Long-Term Care: Under Louisiana law, an individual producer may not sell, solicit or negotiate long-term care insurance unless the individual has complied with the long-term care training requirements. This requirement is separate and distinct from the continuing education requirements for a licensee.
In addition to the eight-hour initial training, an individual engaged in the sale, solicitation or negotiation of long-term care insurance must complete no less than four hours of training every two years (every renewal period) in order to continue to engage in that business.
It is the responsibility of the appointing insurer to track and confirm compliance with this requirement by their producers.
The training courses may be submitted to the Louisiana Department of Insurance by the provider to receive continuing education credits. This credit will be awarded for the appropriate license types. If the courses are approved for continuing education credit, the licensee may apply that credit toward the continuing education requirements for the license types for which the course is approved. The licensee should confirm with the provider of the training that the course is approved for continuing education credit in Louisiana.
For Annuity Products: Individual producers engaged in the sale of annuity products are required to complete a one-time four (4) hour training course. This requirement is separate and distinct from the continuing education requirements for a licensee and applies to both resident and nonresident producers. This requirement applies to all types of annuity products. A producer who satisfied a similar annuity training requirement for another state will be considered to have satisfied Louisiana's requirement. It is the responsibility of the insurer to verify that an insurance producer has completed an approved annuity-training course before allowing the producer to sell an annuity product for that insurer.
How to Renew Your License in Louisiana
Licensees can file a license renewal online in one of two ways:
1) Industry Access Portal: You may file a renewal through the Producer/Adjuster Portal Module under Industry Access. The option for renewal will appear sixty days before expiration of the license. Louisiana strongly recommendeds that you register in Industry Access in advance of your license expiration. Initial requests for registration take a minimum of 24 hours.
You may also file online renewals using a credit card through the National Insurance Producer Registry.
NOTE: If you hold a line that requires continuing education, you must comply with that requirement before an online renewal can be filed. You will not be able to access an online renewal until all continuing education hours are completed and on record with LDI.
Louisiana Continuing Education Course Overview
We've designed our courses to be online and are broken into small "units" to make studying easier and stress-free. There is no need for you to download courses and take a final exam!
Instead, our courses consist of several units of study with a quiz at the end of each unit. To progress from one unit to the next, you must pass the quiz by obtaining a score 70% or better. If you fail the quiz, don't worry as the course takes you back to the unit for review and to retake the unit quiz. This process is repeated until you pass the unit quiz.
During the quiz, you cannot back up to find the answer in the study materials. However, you can use your own personal notes but you may not use any other person's notes or help during a quiz.
When you complete the quiz, the course shows you your answer, the correct answer and an explanation of the correct answer. The unit quiz is a monitoring tool used to track your time studying the unit and responses to the questions.
Upon successful completion of the course, we will email you a certificate of completion and report the hours to the Lousiana Department of Insurance the next business day.
Contacting the State
Additional information and answers to many licensing questions can found via the Louisiana Department of Insurance